Best journaling apps (2026)
ยท Facts checked October 30, 2026
In short: Day One is the best lifelong journal, on almost every device. Apple Journal is the best free pick if you only use Apple devices. Journey suits Android and Windows users, and Diarly keeps entries in your own iCloud. Reflection has the best free AI help. Daylio works if you'd rather tap than write. Joyful, which is ours, is for talking it through out loud.
Quick picks
- Day One: one record of your life, with photos, audio and maps.
- Apple Journal: free, already on your iPhone, iPad or Mac.
- Journey: Android, Windows and Linux.
- Diarly: Apple devices, with entries kept in your own iCloud.
- Reflection: AI questions on a free plan.
- Daylio: two taps a day, no writing.
- Stoic: a morning plan and an evening review.
- Joyful: talk instead of write, with CBT-guided entries. Joyful is ours.
How we chose
Every row comes from two places, both read on October 30, 2026: the app's homepage or pricing page, and its US App Store listing (price list, privacy label, devices, rating and last update). Where an app makes a privacy or storage claim, we read it on the company's own page. Nothing was bought. No journal was kept in any app, and sync and exports went untested. That makes this a comparison of published claims; using each app for months is a test we haven't run. We kept apps updated in 2026 with more than 1,000 App Store ratings, plus Joyful, which is ours and had only 9. The order runs from general journals to more specialized ones.
The table
| App | Best for | Price (US) | Free plan | Platforms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Day One | A lifelong record | Silver $49.99 a year; Gold (with AI) $74.99 a year | Yes, unlimited entries on one device | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, Android, web, Windows |
| Apple Journal | Free on Apple devices | Free | Free | iPhone, iPad, Mac |
| Journey | Android, Windows, Linux | $6.99 a month or $49.99 a year | Free to download | Android, iPhone, iPad, Mac, Windows, Linux, web, Chrome OS |
| Diarly | Privacy on Apple devices | Premium from $24.99 a year (App Store list) | Yes, one journal | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch |
| Reflection | Free AI help | $8 a month, or $5.75 a month billed yearly | Yes, unlimited entries | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Android, web |
| Daylio | Tapping, not writing | Not shown on its site; App Store options $4.99 to $59.99 | Yes | iPhone, iPad, Android |
| Stoic | Daily routines | Not shown on its site | Free to start | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, Android, web |
| Joyful (ours) | Talking it through | $13.99 a month, or $118.99 a year | 10 entries | iPhone, Android |
- Best for:
- A lifelong record
- Price (US):
- Silver $49.99 a year; Gold (with AI) $74.99 a year
- Free plan:
- Yes, unlimited entries on one device
- Platforms:
- iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, Android, web, Windows
- Best for:
- Free on Apple devices
- Price (US):
- Free
- Free plan:
- Free
- Platforms:
- iPhone, iPad, Mac
- Best for:
- Android, Windows, Linux
- Price (US):
- $6.99 a month or $49.99 a year
- Free plan:
- Free to download
- Platforms:
- Android, iPhone, iPad, Mac, Windows, Linux, web, Chrome OS
- Best for:
- Privacy on Apple devices
- Price (US):
- Premium from $24.99 a year (App Store list)
- Free plan:
- Yes, one journal
- Platforms:
- iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch
- Best for:
- Free AI help
- Price (US):
- $8 a month, or $5.75 a month billed yearly
- Free plan:
- Yes, unlimited entries
- Platforms:
- iPhone, iPad, Mac, Android, web
- Best for:
- Tapping, not writing
- Price (US):
- Not shown on its site; App Store options $4.99 to $59.99
- Free plan:
- Yes
- Platforms:
- iPhone, iPad, Android
- Best for:
- Daily routines
- Price (US):
- Not shown on its site
- Free plan:
- Free to start
- Platforms:
- iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, Android, web
- Best for:
- Talking it through
- Price (US):
- $13.99 a month, or $118.99 a year
- Free plan:
- 10 entries
- Platforms:
- iPhone, Android
Joyful is ours. The prices are the ones published on October 30, 2026, linked under Sources; they change, so check before you pay.
Every app but Joyful sat between 4.6 and 4.8 stars on the US App Store that day.1,2,3,4,5,6,7 Too narrow to choose by. Joyful had 5.0, from 9 ratings.8
Day One
If you want to open one app in twenty years and find this Tuesday, it's Day One. It runs on nearly everything, and Silver ($49.99 a year) adds up to 30 photos and videos per entry, audio with transcription, and sync across every device. Gold ($74.99 a year) adds AI features such as Daily Chat.9 You can take everything out again as PDF, JSON, plain text or CSV.10
The free Basic plan is generous in every way but one: you get end-to-end encryption and unlimited entries, but they stay on a single device until you pay.9
The AI is where your entries leave that encryption: while an AI feature runs, the entry is decrypted on your device and sent to a provider, "currently OpenAI."11
Apple Journal
Apple Journal is free, with no in-app purchases, and it's already on iPhone, iPad and Mac.2 There is nothing to set up. Apple says entries are end-to-end encrypted in iCloud, "so that no one but the user can access them."12 It suggests moments to write about from your photos, workouts and places, and transcribes voice recordings.2
Its limit is the one you'd guess.
If you ever switch to an Android phone, there is no Apple Journal app waiting for you on the other side.
Journey
Journey is the pick for people who don't live inside Apple. It runs on Android, iOS, Mac, Windows, the web, Chrome OS and Linux, and membership costs $6.99 a month or $49.99 a year.13,3
It imports Day One exports, though its own import guide warns that existing entries may be overwritten.14 And the privacy features are tied to its own sync: end-to-end encryption and shared journals work only with Journey Cloud Sync.3
Diarly
Diarly keeps your journal out of the company's hands. It says your journal stays on your device, Premium syncs through your own iCloud, and it never stores your journal on its servers.4 The free plan includes one journal with unlimited entries, photos and videos.15
Two limits. No Android, Windows or web version.4 And Premium's encryption covers the words only: "images and other attachments are not encrypted by Diarly."15
Reflection
Reflection is the free choice for someone who wants the app to ask questions as they write, and the free plan is unusually complete: unlimited entries, search, reviews, prompts, and import and export.16 Paying gets you Premium for $8 a month (or $5.75 a month on a yearly bill), with a 7-day trial first.16 Reflection says entries are never used to train AI, "not even on our free plan."16
Free has one photo per entry and limited syncing,16 and on the App Store its privacy label puts identifiers among the data that may be used to track you.5
Daylio
Daylio is journaling for people who won't write. You pick a mood and a few activities, two taps, and its "Year in Pixels" turns that into a whole year of moods on one screen; it exports PDF and CSV.6 Daylio says it doesn't send your data to its servers, so it can't read your entries. Backups go to your own Google Drive or iCloud.17
Long entries aren't what it's for.
Premium's price takes detective work. The site gives none. The App Store shows options from $4.99 to $59.99 and doesn't say which renew monthly or yearly.6
Stoic
Stoic structures the day into a morning plan and an evening review, with mood tracking, breathing and meditation built in and templates that include CBT-based thought dumps and therapy session prep.7 Its site says journals are stored on your devices.18
You won't find a price on its website. On the App Store you'll see Premium between $6.99 and $39.99, plus $299 for lifetime, and nothing to say which of the others bill monthly or yearly.7
Joyful (ours)
Joyful is ours, and it's the one app here built for talking. You speak, Joy answers, and Joy remembers what you said on earlier calls. Its guided entries come from CBT. One is a thought record; the others cover gratitude, intentions and wins. Joy sums up each one, and then the week.
It is not a photo journal or a lifelong record, and there's no web or desktop app. Ten entries cost nothing; the plan after a 7-day trial is $13.99 a month or $118.99 a year, and voice-minute packs ($10 to $45) are extra on the App Store.8
Where your entries live
| App | Where entries are stored | Encryption (company's words) | App Store: data "used to track you" |
|---|---|---|---|
| Day One | Day One's sync service | End-to-end | None listed |
| Apple Journal | iCloud | End-to-end in iCloud | None listed |
| Journey | Journey Cloud Sync or your Google Drive | End-to-end with Journey Cloud Sync | None listed |
| Diarly | Your device and your own iCloud | Entry text, with Premium | None listed |
| Reflection | Reflection's sync service | AES-256 at rest, TLS in transit | Identifiers |
| Daylio | Your device; backups to your Google Drive or iCloud | Encrypted backup transfer | None listed |
| Stoic | Your devices | Not stated on its homepage | None listed |
| Joyful (ours) | Google Cloud Firestore | In transit (TLS) and at rest | None listed |
- Where entries are stored:
- Day One's sync service
- Encryption (company's words):
- End-to-end
- App Store: data "used to track you":
- None listed
- Where entries are stored:
- iCloud
- Encryption (company's words):
- End-to-end in iCloud
- App Store: data "used to track you":
- None listed
- Where entries are stored:
- Journey Cloud Sync or your Google Drive
- Encryption (company's words):
- End-to-end with Journey Cloud Sync
- App Store: data "used to track you":
- None listed
- Where entries are stored:
- Your device and your own iCloud
- Encryption (company's words):
- Entry text, with Premium
- App Store: data "used to track you":
- None listed
- Where entries are stored:
- Reflection's sync service
- Encryption (company's words):
- AES-256 at rest, TLS in transit
- App Store: data "used to track you":
- Identifiers
- Where entries are stored:
- Your device; backups to your Google Drive or iCloud
- Encryption (company's words):
- Encrypted backup transfer
- App Store: data "used to track you":
- None listed
- Where entries are stored:
- Your devices
- Encryption (company's words):
- Not stated on its homepage
- App Store: data "used to track you":
- None listed
- Where entries are stored:
- Google Cloud Firestore
- Encryption (company's words):
- In transit (TLS) and at rest
- App Store: data "used to track you":
- None listed
The storage column quotes each company; the label column is what each developer reported to the App Store, both as of October 30, 2026.9,12,3,14,4,15,16,17,18,19 App Store labels are what each developer reports. We read the statements; we did not audit them.
Which one is best for you
- You want one record of your life: Day One.
- Everything you own is Apple, and you'd rather not pay: Apple Journal.
- You're on Android or Windows: Journey, or Day One.
- Privacy matters most: Diarly, Apple Journal or Daylio, which keep entries out of the developer's hands.
- You want AI questions for free: Reflection.
- A paragraph is more than you've got in you: Daylio, or Joyful (ours) if talking is easier.
- You want a routine: Stoic.
- You don't want an app at all: a paper notebook. Our guide to how to start journaling works with a pen.
Picture yourself a year from now, reading back what you wrote this month. What would you want to find there? Write one sentence about it.
Answer this with JoyQuestions people ask
What is the best app to use for journaling?
Day One, for most people, because it's the one on this list you're least likely to outgrow: it runs on almost every device, and its exports (PDF, JSON, plain text, CSV) mean you can leave.10 On an iPhone with no budget, Apple Journal is free.2
Is journaling good for you?
A little, on average. Writing about feelings and events had a small benefit across 146 randomized studies, with wide differences between people.20 None of those studies tested an app. For the writing itself, start with how to start journaling.
What is the dark side of journaling?
Two things. Writing about something painful can leave you feeling worse for a while, even when it helps later; the first expressive writing study found exactly that pattern.21 And writing that circles the same worry without moving toward an answer is the unhelpful kind of repetitive thinking.22 If an entry keeps going round, stop and write one next step.
Which free diary app keeps the most?
Day One's Basic plan keeps unlimited entries but on one device.9 Reflection's free plan keeps unlimited entries with one photo each.16 Diarly's keeps one journal, photos and videos included.15 Apple Journal has no paid tier at all.2